It is possible to block contacts on LinkedIn, in fact, you can block up to a maximum of 50 contacts. The goal is that they do not have access to your LinkedIn profile.
By doing so, the blocked contact will not be notified of this and, in all cases, you will always have the option to unblock them again.
In this post, I tell you how you can unblock and block contacts on LinkedIn, regardless of their relationship level.
How to block contacts on LinkedIn
- Go to the LinkedIn profile of the person you want to block, place the cursor over the three ellipses near the blue “send a message” button, if it is direct or first-level contact, or next to the gray “send an inmail message” button, if it is a contact of any other relationship level, and select “Report/block”, as shown in the image.
- Once done, you will get a screen like the one shown in the image below.
Pay attention to what happens when you block someone:
- They won’t be able to access your LinkedIn profile but, neither will you, be able to access the blocked contact’s profile. Let’s say it is a mutual block.
- You won’t be able to send messages to each other either.
- If you are direct or first-level contact, you will no longer be direct or first-level contact. Again, for this reason, there will be no notification to the contact in question. The image below shows the last step before blocking.
- Validations and recommendations of the contact you block, if any, will be removed from your LinkedIn profile, and vice versa,
- After blocking, that profile will not appear among the suggestions that LinkedIn can make to you through the “people you might know” or “users also saw” sections,
- You will not be seen in “Who has seen your profile”. To block someone, inevitably, you have to enter their profile, well, LinkedIn deletes the trace of that visit once you have completed the block.
As you can see at the bottom of the image above, you can also, through this process, “Report” a profile.
I have received, the truth is that not many, but some queries from professionals who are openly disqualified in third party profiles or who, for example, receive emails behind which, they suspect, there may be some kind of scam.
In any case, to report someone, you have to be very sure of what you are doing.
How to unblock a contact on LinkedIn
- To unblock a contact, you have to go to the settings of your LinkedIn profile.
- Place the cursor over the “Me” option in the main menu, and go to “Settings and privacy”.
- Once inside, at the top of the page, you will find the option “Settings and privacy” and, in the menu of this section, which appears on the left side of the screen, as shown in the image below, you will see the option “block and hide”. When you press it, the section in question will appear in the central part of the screen.
- Now click on “Blocked” to access your list of blocked contacts. As shown in the image below, you will be able to unblock the contacts you want.
- When you click on “Unblock”, LinkedIn, to make this change, requires you to enter the profile password. In this way, it verifies that the person making the change is indeed you, as the owner of the profile.
- When you block a contact, you no longer have access to the content that professional has shared, both on LinkedIn Pulse and through updates via the home page.
- Needless to say, this option to block contacts on LinkedIn is common to all LinkedIn accounts, no matter if it is a free account or if, on the contrary, you have a premium LinkedIn account.
- You must keep in mind that, if the blocked contact was a direct contact or first-level relationship, once unblocked, it will no longer be direct contact. If in the future, you would like to reconnect, you would have to send them an invitation.
- We can say that blocking members goes one step further than simply deleting a contact. In the latter case, you remove them from your contact network, but the user in question still has access to your profile and vice versa.
Finally, blocking contacts on LinkedIn, first of all, can be applied to any contact, and not only on direct contacts or first level but also the blocking involves the impossibility of viewing your profile and send you messages, as I have already mentioned above, therefore, an ideal measure to get rid of spammers, potential spies, stalkers, or simply professionals who do not want to enter your profile.