How to disable two-step verification on Facebook? – Quick and easy

The vast majority of applications and platforms that you will find on the internet, base their security on a common aspect. We are talking about two-step verification on Facebook. This is not only used to log in to a profile, but also to deactivate a Facebook account without the need for a third party.

Although it is not mandatory, it is recommended to keep it active. The problem with this, is that when being rushed to log into an application, you have to go through the steps to complete the checkout. This takes up a lot of time in most cases. Therefore, today we will provide you with the necessary information for you to deactivate this function.

Is it possible to skip two-step verification on Facebook?

The answer is yes. In fact, the process is easier than you might think. To do this, you can opt for two different methods, via mobile and without it. If you want to accomplish it without the use of a phone, you just have to:

  • Go to your account settings.
  • Select security and login.
  • Scroll down until you find an option that refers to two-step authentication.
  • Here you have the ability to enable or disable this without requiring a phone number.
  • To do so, you can make use of a password or an authentication app.

According to the platform you are on, the verification methods may vary. That is, in the case of Facebook, you have the option to choose to recover your Facebook password via SMS, email and others. 

Can I disable two-step verification on my Facebook account?

To do this, you just have to follow a series of simple steps that we will explain shortly. Keep in mind that regardless of whether you have this function active or not, you will be able to enable the dark mode without any problem.

  • Log in to your Facebook account.
  • Now go to the options and go to ‘Settings and privacy’.
  • Here you have to go to the ‘Settings’ section.
  • You will be shown a series of options that you can modify, in your case you will focus on ‘Security and Login’.
  • When you select it, new information will appear in the right pane. You will have to scroll down until you come across ‘Two-Step Verification’.
  • Click there and then click ‘Edit’. You will be prompted to enter a password. This should be the one you use to log in to your Facebook account. 

What can I do to change the identity confirmation method on my Facebook account?

Sometimes certain ways of accessing an account are not the most suitable for users. For this reason, the platforms themselves provide a number of alternatives that you can opt for. It doesn’t matter if it is through applications or using a PC to do so. Below, we will explain how you can change this without so much difficulty.

Switch to a code by SMS message

This is the first alternative that Facebook gives you. In fact, many of today’s social networks have this form of confirmation. The idea of this is that, when you log in to your account, either through a personal cell phone or one that you don’t have, a code is sent to your phone number.

Of course, for this, you must have configured your account with the corresponding data. In other words, you must have previously added a telephone number to which the code can be sent. It is possible that, when you want to enable Facebook authentication, you will be sent some kind of notification. 

Using the code generator application

This is a feature built into Facebook that is used in conjunction with two-step authentication. The idea is that once activated, it starts the process of generating a random security code. This is so that it is not the same password every time you try to log in to your account, no matter if it is through a mobile or PC.

The advantage of this is that you have the option to use it even if you do not have an internet connection or do not have SMS service.

Through the Facebook code generator

This is more of the same. Just go to your account settings and activate this option. Keep in mind that each time a new one is generated, it will have a total of 6 digits. They usually tend to expire between 30 and 60 seconds after they are created. If for some reason it stops working, you can click on ‘My Code Does Not Work’ and it will initiate a reset process.

One thing you should know is that if someone without permission tries to access your account, you will be alerted by a warning message. This will depend on two important factors. If you have enabled two-step verification and if you have a confirmation method set up.

If you have a phone number added, you may notice that someone is trying to access your profile. A message with a confirmation code will arrive on your phone. Without this, no one will have access to your account. It is for this reason that a lot of emphasis is placed on keeping this option enabled. It would be a bit safe not to have it that way, but at the end of the day you are the one who has the final decision. 

Leave a Comment