The social network YouTube has a function that allows you to send private messages to other users. Depending on the account settings, you will be able to receive notifications via email privately. It should be noted that this messaging feature is only available for the desktop version of YouTube.
YouTube has a large number of participants or subscribers, where millions of views are obtained daily due to the large amount of information that is handled. Because of this it is necessary to know how I can communicate privately, so in this article you will learn how to do it.
Table of Contents
What should you take into account to be able to send a private message on YouTube?
You need to have a Google account set up to be able to access YouTube. Once you have logged in, you will have created your YouTube channel and you will be able to subscribe to other channels, make comments and enjoy the benefits of this social network.
In case you need to communicate with a YouTube user or channel, you must have a registered and verified account to send private messages.
Registered YouTube account
If you have a Google account you can register by logging into YouTube with your account information, or create a new account. Once registered you will be able to bookmark videos, view them, ‘Like’ them, among other things.
Once you have registered and verified your account you will have to create your YouTube channel to be able to enjoy all the functions. Therefore, you will have to follow the next steps:
- Select your profile picture, located at the top right.
- Click on ‘Create channel’.
- Verify your name and profile picture from your Google account and confirm it.
- You have now created your YouTube channel, which you can manage with your Google account. It is important that you set up your YouTube account profile and enter your email address so that other users can view it and contact you.
How to send a private message to another YouTube channel?
YouTube allows you to watch videos without the need to log in or register, but when you want to share a video or comment on it, you can only do so when you are logged in. The same happens when you want to send a message to a particular user.
Once logged in to the social network, you must go to the channel or particular user to whom you want to send a message. This can be done by clicking on the user’s name, which will redirect you to their channel, or by simply typing the channel name in the search bar.
When you are in the channel’s profile, you will need to click on the ‘More Info’ option, followed by the ‘Details’ option where a ‘View Email Address’ button will appear. Click on it and you will see a security check box that you will need to complete. Finally, you will see the email address.
It may be the case that the channel creator you want to contact does not have a public email address or has not set up their profile. In this case, it will be impossible for you to send him/her a private message, limiting yourself to communicating only through the comments on the videos and waiting for the channel owner to see it and respond to your comment.
What is the way to see the inbox of messages sent to you by YouTube?
You can view private messages by going to your account, clicking on the ‘Community’ option in the ‘Video Manager’ section and selecting ‘Inbox’. It all depends on your account settings. Users will also receive an email notification of the private message.
Additional YouTube options
YouTube has additional options, such as notifications, which allow you to know the news of the channels you have subscribed to or the new videos published. The notifications you receive will depend on the settings you make in your account, where you can enable or disable certain types of notifications.
With notifications you will be able to view messages in your inbox, if you are on your computer, and more. If you want to receive all types of notifications you will have to customize them in your account.
How to know if they have already seen the message you sent via YouTube?
To find out if your message has been read, you must activate the ‘Request read confirmation’ option. So you will have to go to your Gmail account, and before sending the message, click on the three dots that appear at the bottom of the window next to the delete message icon, and click on the option.
When you send your message, the recipient will see an announcement indicating that you requested a reading confirmation where the person must send the confirmation. It should be noted that the reading confirmations are independent from the e-mail replies.