Telegram has a lot of tricks up its sleeve. Do you know all the differences between clearing and deleting a chat? We tell you
If you have been using the Telegram messaging application for a short time, you may have doubts such as “how to delete a Telegram chat”. Or “If I delete Telegram, will my conversations be deleted? No matter what doubts you have, whether they have to do with emptying chats, deleting messages and the consequences of it, in this article we are going to tell you all about it. So that you know how to use it and no one will take you for a ride. Or better yet, to say “where I said I said, I say Diego”.
Keep in mind, before deleting a Telegram chat, that you will always have the option to delete the messages themselves. Both those received and those sent. Just long press on the message, the photo, the audio or even the sticker and tap the trash can icon. A pop-up window appears asking you if you want to delete the message only in your chat or for both members (or more if it is a group). This way you can selectively delete elements of the Telegram chat without being drastic and delete absolutely everything.
But, if what you are looking for is to know how to delete a Telegram chat completely and definitively, then the steps are different. And so are the consequences. Say goodbye to all the content in that chat or conversation. Everything will end up deleted and will be unrecoverable. So think twice before carrying out these steps:
- Go to the Telegram chats screen.
- Perform a long press on the chat or chats you want to delete.
- Click on the trash can icon
- Confirm if you want the deleted content to be deleted for the other members of the chat as well.
- When you accept, you will see that the conversation or chat is deleted and its contents are lost forever. Especially if you have chosen that they will not appear for the other member either. This way you will not leave any trace (unless screenshots have been taken) of what was spoken or shared in the chat. Even when the other person wants to keep the conversations. If you choose to delete the content for everyone, no one will be able to see it.
Differences Between Clearing Chat And Deleting Chat In Telegram
Now then. With the above in mind, you have to know the differences between empty chat and delete chat in Telegram. And it is that they are different issues. And, in fact, they are different functions.
On the one hand there is empty chat, a function that is found in the three points within the conversation that we want to delete. Thanks to it we can completely delete the contents without having to delete the chat. It will be like deleting one by one all messages and content, both sent and received, but in one fell swoop. This makes it faster and more convenient. But the way to talk again remains. In addition, in this function you will find the message auto-delete, with which you can set an automatic cleaning process every 24 hours, every week or every month.
On the other hand, when deleting the chat what we will be doing is deleting the contents and the conversation itself. We can choose to delete the messages also for the interlocutor, if we want to. With this there will be no trace of anything. Neither of what was shared nor of the chat where it was shared. It is a more drastic measure that allows us to clean even the main Telegram screen of conversations that we no longer want to have in sight. Of course, if you want to talk to that person again you will have to start a new conversation or chat. Completely clean, new and brand new.
If I Delete Telegram, Are The Conversations Deleted?
Now, what happens if I uninstall the app, if I delete Telegram will the conversations be deleted? Well, the answer to this question is no. All Telegram chats are protected end-to-end so that, even if there are reminiscences of them on servers and cell phones of the interlocutors, everything is protected and absolutely no one else can read it. In addition, Telegram maintains its integrity on its servers. This means that you can have your chats and conversations accessible from any device, without having the mobile operating, as it happens so far in WhatsApp.
With all this, which is the basic technical explanation of how Telegram works, the application allows us to keep our conversations alive even when we delete the tool on our mobile. You can uninstall the application and end up with all the data left on your phone, and even install the app again on another mobile, and keep all your conversations. Not a single message, not even a sticker, will have been moved from each of your chats. So you will be able to resume your conversations or review any of them without any problems or absences.
Thus, it is important for you to know that to properly delete messages, photos, audios, stickers and all traces of these chats and conversations it will be necessary to carry out the practices explained above: delete chats or empty conversations. Otherwise, even if you uninstall Telegram or consult the application from its web version you will find all the contents.
How To Delete A Secret Chat In Telegram
And if after all this you are left with the doubt of how to delete a secret chat in Telegram, the answer is as simple as it gets. For some time Telegram equates the operation of secret chats to normal chats in your application, at least in terms of managing them (you know that the contents of the secret chat can disappear automatically to never leave a trace of what is spoken). With this, you will only have to repeat the steps to delete chat that we have explained above.
You will only have to mark the secret chat on the main Telegram screen, which you can identify by its characteristic padlock icon. A long press will help you to mark it. Or even to mark several at once. After that click on the trash can icon at the top of the screen and confirm the action. This way the secret Telegram chat will be completely deleted. Without leaving any trace that it existed at any time.