How-To-Prevent-Telegram-From-Downloading-Files

How To Prevent Telegram From Downloading Files


If you know how to prevent Telegram from downloading files you will save data and space in your phone’s memory, take note!

Want to know how to stop Telegram from downloading files? You’re in the right place. And the thing is that if you have been using this application for a short time, you may have noticed that when they send you photos, videos, or other types of files, they are automatically downloaded to your phone.

What does this mean? First, it fills your phone with files that you may not want to keep. In addition, these files take up space, so the memory of your phone will be increasingly full; and, last but not least, the data expense involved in downloading each image, video, or any type of file… If you don’t want this to happen, check out how to prevent Telegram from downloading files!

How To Prevent Telegram From Downloading Files

To find out how to prevent Telegram from downloading files you will have to make some adjustments to your account settings. Normally, when you create it, by default, these downloads are automatic. So you will have to go to your account settings to do it. We tell you step by step in the next point!

How To Configure Downloads In Telegram

If you want to know how to configure downloads in Telegram to prevent files sent to you from downloading directly, follow these steps!

  • Log in to your Telegram account and locate the menu: these are the three lines that appear at the top left. Click.
  • In the next drop-down that will open, find and select the “Settings” option, as shown in the following image.
  • Once there, look for “Data and storage”. Click and go to the next screen.
  • Where it says “Auto-download media” is where you will have to make the changes so that the download is not automatic.

Keep reading the next point to know what to check or uncheck depending on what you are interested in:

How To Prevent Telegram From Downloading Images

To know how to prevent Telegram from downloading images or other multimedia files, we are going to explain one by one the three options mentioned in the previous point. If you have reached them, it is quite intuitive to know what will happen if you check or uncheck each of the options, even so, we tell you step by step:

With mobile data: 

if you check this option, the files sent to you, whether photos, videos or other formats, will be downloaded automatically as long as you have the data connected. However, there is a limit of 10MB and 1MB respectively, if the file exceeds this load, you must wait until you have Wifi. If you uncheck this option, the files will only be downloaded when you have Wifi connection. If you do so: you will save data when using this application.

With Wifi: 

photos and videos up to 15MB and other files up to 3MB can only be downloaded if you have a network connection (data will not be enough). If you have checked this option, the download of these files will be automatic. What happens if you uncheck it? They will only be downloaded if you choose to do so. Here the saving is mainly of space. That is, if you select one by one the files you want to download, you will not fill your phone’s memory with information you are not interested in.

In roaming: 

this is the last option, and refers to whether or not you have roaming activated in case you are abroad. In this case, the application only allows you to download photos, videos or other files (until you do not have wifi). If you uncheck this option you can save some discomfort, especially if you travel a lot, in the phone bill, because if you exceed the data limit, the cost may be higher depending on your rate.

You already know how to prevent Telegram from downloading files by itself: unchecking all the above options.

How Automatic Downloading Works In Telegram

If you’ve come this far, you already know how automatic downloading works in Telegram. If the above options are enabled – and taking into account their differences – when photos, videos or files arrive to you through the app, they will download themselves, without you having to do anything, in your phone’s gallery.

Otherwise, only if you download them, they will be on your phone. Important: you should know that even if they are not on your phone, they will be saved in your chats, so you can access them whenever you want. If you are not sure how to watch videos from this app without downloading them, we tell you here.


See also  Why "last time a long time ago" appears on Telegram

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *