Lost your Oculus Quest and want to know how to reset it without physical access to the headset? We’ll tell you how easy it is to do.
Since you need to be logged into your Facebook account to use your Oculus Quest headset, anyone using your Oculus Quest has access to your personal data. If you lose your Quest or it gets stolen, you obviously need to make sure that no one can access your Facebook feed or send messages to your friends using Facebook Messenger.
To do this, you need to reset your headset remotely.
What does remote reset mean?
A remote reset is an information security guarantee that you can use to clear all important data from your Oculus Quest headset, even if you no longer have physical access to it. The device will be cleared of all personal data and information and returned to factory settings. The device will no longer be linked to your account and will operate as if it were a brand new device.
This is a last resort, so make sure you are definitely ready to erase everything from your Quest – you can’t get anything back.
How do I remotely erase Oculus Quest?
- First, go to https://secure.oculus.com/my/devices/ on your computer or on your phone.
- Then, if you haven’t already done so, log in with your Facebook/Oculus account associated with your headset.
- Find the Oculus Quest headset you want to erase in the device list and click “Delete device data”.
- You may need to go through an identification step to confirm that it is indeed you. The system will then fulfill your request.
The next time you turn on the Quest headset, it will automatically delete all your personal data and reset your settings to factory defaults. The headset will no longer appear in the My Devices tab as it is no longer attached to your account.