As we know the network Snapchat allows its users to share their locations in real-time on the map, of course, to know where their friends are. This feature is called Snap Map, which has won the admiration of most users of the network and is among the main factors that have contributed to the success of this network.
By default, your location is not shared on the Snapchat map without you calling it yourself. You can disable or enable sharing of your location, as well as choose who can see your location on the Map. You can also ask anyone to share their location on the Map privately. All these things about sharing your location on Snapchat, we’ll learn more about them in this guide.
How to share my location on the map in the Snapchat app
Quite simply, we’ll enable it through Snapchat’s settings. Open the app and click on your profile avatar located in the upper left corner. After that, click on the gear icon in the upper right corner to enter the settings.
Under Settings, scroll down a bit to the Additional Services section and then click on the See My Location option.
You will see that you have Ghost Mode enabled. Enabling this mode means that your location is hidden on the map. So whenever you want to prevent your location from appearing on the Snapchat map, simply enable Ghost Mode. Now we want to share our location on the map, so uncheck the box next to Ghost Mode.
You’ll notice that you have the option to decide who can see my location on the Snapchat map. There are three options:
- My Friends: Check this option to allow all of your Snapchat friends to see your location on the map.
- My Friends, Except: Click this option to specify exceptions for friends with whom you don’t want to share your location on the map, which means the friends you select in this option will not see your location on the map.
- Only These Friends: Click this option to select the friends you want to share your location on the map with. Use this option if you want to share your location with some of your friends.
You will see that there is an option to request a location. You can allow your friends to request your location on the Snapchat map by enabling the “Allow Friends to Request My Location” option. When this option is enabled, the Request Your Location button will be available on your profile and shown to your friends.
You can also share your location with anyone in particular by entering their profile. Then click on the “Share My Location” button. A small window will appear asking you to allow your location to be shared, click on “Allow”.
In the paragraph below, learn how to request someone’s location on the Snapchat map.
How to request someone’s location on the Snapchat map
Simply, you can ask someone for their location on the map via their profile. Enter it and click on the option (Request ‘name’ Location).
After you send the request, it will appear to your friend in your private messages. They can agree to share their location on the map by clicking the Share Location button.
Why doesn’t the location request option appear in Snapchat?
The location request option does not appear for several reasons, as follows:
- The person you want to send a location share request to has disabled the option for friends to request their location via settings.
- He or she has enabled sharing their location with only specific friends, and you are one of the excluded.
- This person has shared their location on the map with all users, so you can access their profile and click on the map to view their location.
- Recently, this person shared their location with you. Snapchat has not indicated how long it should take to resubmit the location request. However, we believe that the option to request a location reappears after that person’s location on the map changes.
- As you can see, the Snapchat network gives you full control over sharing your location on the map, of course, to maintain your privacy and avoid being tracked by anyone.