Sometimes a user needs to see and view someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing. For example, you want to see what your friend is doing without them knowing, and the reasons are different. We also know that when you see someone’s story on Snapchat, your name appears on their watch list, which means you’ve seen their story. However, while there is no official option for you to see Story anonymously, there is a trick that allows you to do so.
Table of Contents
See Story of someone on Snapchat without them knowing on Android
You need to apply these steps carefully for the process to be successful. What we will do is to enter the Snapchat application, then before seeing the story, we will activate the Airplane mode on the phone, after seeing a story of this person, we will delete the cache of the application before disabling the Airplane mode.
First of all, open the Snapchat app and go to the story section. Wait a minute or two for all stories to be preloaded.
Now, turn on Airplane Mode on your phone.
When you enable Airplane Mode, the internet connection on your phone will be disconnected and any action you take on the Snapchat app will be saved in the app’s cache and never connect to the network. Now you can see that person’s story on Snapchat if it was previously downloaded, which would allow you to see it offline.
Don’t worry, after seeing a story, Snapchat won’t be able to send this activity to its servers, because the application is not connected to the Internet. But this activity is stored in a cache on the phone, so when the Internet connection is restored, this activity will be sent to Snapchat servers. For this, what we will do in the next step before disabling Airplane mode is to completely erase the Snapchat data on your phone.
Note: After deleting the data from the application, then open it, you will have to enter the login information of your Snapchat account.
- Long press the Snapchat app icon, then select the option “App info” on the small menu that appeared. Alternatively, head to Settings> Apps> Manage apps (on some types of phones only)> click on the Snapchat app.
- Click on a Clear data option and then in the pop-up window, select a Clear all data option. If you see a confirmation window for this action, accept it.
- This action will delete all the data stored in the Snapchat app, including the cache, so it will revert to its original state as if you had just installed the app.
- You can now disable Airplane Mode by opening the Snapchat app, then logging into your account. Snapchat will try to get the stored data and won’t find it, so your name won’t appear in that person’s watch list.
See someone’s Snapchat story without them knowing on the iPhone
We can do almost the same trick on the iPhone, but instead of deleting the app data, here you will have to completely delete the Snapchat app from the iPhone and then reinstall it via the App Store, but the frustrating thing here is that you have to reinstall it after 24 hours. You can do this process if you want to see this story anonymously.
This is also a foolproof method and you don’t have to worry about that person knowing that you have seen their story. Follow the steps below and make sure you don’t miss any steps to make the order 100% successful.
- Open the Snapchat app, then wait a minute or two for that story to pre-load.
- On the iPhone screen, swipe your finger from bottom to top or vice versa (depending on the type of iPhone) to bring up the control center. Activate Airplane Mode by clicking on the shortcut that includes the airplane icon.
- Now that your phone has been disconnected from the Internet, you can see this story on Snapchat.
- Delete the Snapchat app from the iPhone.
- Turn off airplane mode.
- Wait 24 hours and then reinstall the Snapchat app on the iPhone from the App Store.
- Congratulations, your name will not appear on the watch list of this person’s story.
- This method is effective and from personal experience. Snapchat will not be able to send your activity to its servers if the application is not present on the iPhone. If you wait 24 hours, that story will expire and you won’t be able to see who has seen it.